Little interview with Raevennan Husbandes

I reviewed Raevennan Husbandes’ set in Cool as Folk last month so when I bumped into Raevennan again recently , I thought I’d ask her a couple of questions. So if you enjoy her music and want to learn a bit more about her then read on…

How would you describe your music?

Hmm, I’m forever asked this question- you would have thought that I’d be able to attack this one with a slick answer, but alas I haven’t thought of one yet. An audience member once approached me and dubbed me an ‘Afrocentric beatnik songbird’ I like it so I’ll keep it!

You mentioned at the Cool as Folk gig Laura Veirs as an influence, can you name anyone else?

She is definitely a new influence on my music, after I saw two shows of hers back in January. She was so amazing I went on two consecutive days.  Nick Drake has a big influence on my music too-I’ve even named one of my guitars after him! Then there is Joni Mitchell, James Taylor and all the way to Lauryn Hill and Luther VanDross. The list really is endless and so eclectic…

The Upstairs gig was your first time Brixton, what were your first impressions?

It was and I loved it! It was a bit of a trek getting there from the most north-westerly part of the tube map, but I made it with minutes to spare and noticed the chilled vibe as soon as I stepped off the tube. I have a lot of love for The Ritzy too; I would love to play there again with the band.

Where are you living at the moment? Is there a good music scene around there?

At the moment I’m in a lovely town house in West Drayton, near Uxbridge and it has a really great vibe. There isn’t much of a music scene where I am, not for my kind of music at least.  Most people travel central, or at least a little further in to the city to get their fix.

You mentioned your upcoming album; can you tell us a little more about that?

Well, lucky for me I have recorded and produced my first album and it’s all going towards my degree in Music and Performance. It’s basically my dissertation, so I can do what I love and get a degree out of it in the end. The songs have all been written during the past year (most in the past four months) and have been influenced by people and events in my life.

Where do you want to take your music?

Like any musician, I guess, I want to take my music all over the world. I love America and would like to settle over there one day. I did a spot of gigging and travelling on the East Coast in August 2009 with a friend and fellow musician Katie Maddocks and our music was really appreciated. I’m planning to return towards the end of the summer and take a greyhound bus over to the West Coast. I’ve always wanted to plat a live set on KCRW radio, which is an independent radio station streamed from a basement in Santa Monica. Laura Veirs did a set there not too long ago to round off her world tour.

Where do I want to take my music in general? Well, I’m seeing my music grow all the time. Whenever I return to the studio to lay down new songs I realise how far I’ve come since the last time I was there. It’s all linked but I’m riding new waves all the time. I’d love to go to India and work with some classical musicians over there. I’m looking forward to the currently unknown projects I’ll be working on in the future.

